Eve pic“And the earth was without form and void and darkness was upon the face of the deep…and the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters”…Genesis 1:2

  It was as black as midnight and the depth of the grave hovered over the face of the waters. For as far as the human eye could see there was nothing but water. Deep, dark, black water…

It appeared as a wasteland, a place of emptiness and obscure vision. It felt cold and lifeless.

But something happened. Something moved. The water began to swell. It began to churn from the deep rising to the top only  to agitate the chaos.

Despite all of this, somehow I could feel Life moving in.  It was too dark to see clearly, but my ears were attentive to the rhythm of the water; the ebb and flow it seemed to hold.

…and I leaned in so as not to miss what was getting ready to happen.

I felt the wind begin to stir and my heart began to anticipate. If I had removed my focus for only a moment, I would have missed all of it.

It began softer than a whisper. My vision cleared faintly so I could catch sight the movement of the Wind. He fluttered and began to hover. As He hovered, the silence was broken for He began to shake the waters, and move upon the face of the deep. Yes, just as the Word says, the Spirit of God moved. He moved on account of Himself. He moved on account of the  chaos and the condition of the deep. The Spirit of God moved on account of Love…

The Spirit of God brought refreshment only moments before the miracle of creation began.

God said, and He saw, and He called creation into being.

For five days God created all things beautiful to see, to taste and touch.  Yet there was no one to see, no one to taste, and no one to touch this magnificence.

A decision was made. God said, “Let us make man in our image, in our likeness.”

When it began? I’m not sure. I only remember feeling the atmosphere change. Instantly something consumed the air, and all oxygen was swallowed. For a moment I thought I wouldn’t live; I couldn’t, I was only mortal. But my chest moved~ in and out and I felt not oxygen enter my lungs, but breath… 

In the moments that followed, God birthed something new. Out of the dust of the ground He birthed an individual man to reflect His likeness. God now ordered a new set of conditions, He ordered human activity and divine activity. And man would participate in both.

They would collide in one place; The Garden of Eden.

Yet, one thing was missing. God knew it was not good for man to be alone…

