Tags

, , , , , ,

10425486_850309968359248_1973288684909216518_nYou prepare a table before me…Psalm 23:5

In retrospect, I see it was Him. He had other plans for us; for me. But at the time, which was not so long ago…

I was aggravated. Frustrated that the call was not made sooner. He had talked about it. In fact, he knew the day was coming, so reservations needed to be made. But, time gets in the way, we get busy, and the phone call was put aside. That time lapse cost us a “no room at the inn”.

So, plan “B” would have to do.  I was not thrilled at plan “B”, it meant there would be no special time to dress chic and trendy, travel to our favorite spot, and enjoy one of the best meals in Southern Indiana. In essence; there would be no festivities…home would have to do.

Now, please permit me a minute to just ponder on the page here…

1. I love my home. I love being in my home. I love making a home. Nine times out of ten, give me my home.

2. I love to cook. I live to cook. I love the way it makes my home smell. I love to savor the finished product and simply swoon over the the whole process of yeast, flour, eggs, butter, and sugar. I love whisking away the browned bits of seared meat into a savory reduction to pour over a perfectly cooked filet…oh the love…

3. I have a deep affection for setting the table. I love setting a table. My table is a palette of love…  China, stoneware, crystal, brass, silver, wood and iron. It’s creative. It’s giving elegance. It’s a place to gather with my beloved family.

All of this makes me, fortunate. Yes, fortunate, blessed, satisfied, and content.

But on that night, again, not so long ago…when there was “no room at the inn”…

I began an evening of blessedness.

We sat down, held hands and prayed. We delighted in His presence, for He was delighting in us. His plan had unfolded. We participated in “the Table set before us”. 

It was a table of reminisce, a table of love, a table of sacrifice. It was a table where a “cord of three strands” was evident, strong, and growing stronger.

When there is “no room at the inn”, a great thing is birthed. His plans are made known. His grace is sufficient. His love covers all things. A place where we once again find, there is no greater Sacrifice…

Truly, this was a Table of Grace…

It was right here, in my own house…

The Table of Grace, where we gather and pray, and partake…

join the Table of Grace…it is a journey, and a place where all are welcome and satisfied…

Taste and see that the Lord is good…Psalm 34:8

